Gluten-Free Beers are very light to black. These are beers (lager, ale or other) made from fermentable sugars, grains and converted carbohydrates. Ingredients do not contain gluten, in other words zero gluten (No barley, wheat, spelt, rye, etc.) Gluten-Free Beers may, or may not, contain malted grains that do not contain gluten. Sweetness will vary dramatically depending on overall balance desired. Hop bitterness is very low to very high, and may be used for highlighting desired characters. Brewers may, or may not, design and identify these beers along other style guidelines with regard to aroma, flavor and appearance profile. The beer's overall balance and character should be based on its own merits and not necessarily compared with traditional styles of beer. In competitions, brewers identify ingredients and fermentation type. NOTE: These guidelines do not supersede any government regulations. Wine, mead, flavored malt beverages or beverages other than "beer" as defined by the TTB (U.S. Trade and Tax Bureau) are not considered "gluten-free beer" under these guidelines. Body is variable with style. At the competition director's discretion, rapid detection methods may be used to qualify that a beer is indicated "gluten free" in testing. Gluten-reduced beers should be entered into the classic style category after which an entry was brewed. Gluten reduced beers' original ingredients would have gluten content that has been reduced by enzymes or other processes to reduced levels.